Library Displays

Banned Books Week Display

Since I’m only working two days a week I made a very simple Banned Books Week display. I printed out a sign to explain to the kids what this week represents:

sign-resized

I found the wording on Pinterest but I couldn’t find exactly who to credit. If it’s you let me know!

I spent a couple of hours on my Saturday shift cutting flames. Then I made a list of banned/challenged children’s books so that anyone on shift at the children’s desk can fill the display as the books are checked out. I was amazed to see how many banned children’s books there were! Our head children’s librarian does an amazing job with our collection so we had most of them available to display.

20160927_162306

20160927_162322

Simple but, I think, effective! Several have been checked out already and I hope the adults are discussing this week with their kids.

Leave a Reply

