story time

Bird Story Time

This was the second story time I ever did at the library and I remember one of the mothers complimented me on it afterwards, which was so nice to hear. Especially so early in my story time career!

Welcome Song: Hi Hello and How Are You (to the tune of London Bridges Falling Down)
Hi, hello and how are you?
How are you? How are you?
Hi, hello and how are you?
How are you today?

Song: Clap Clap Clap Your Hands (to the tune of Row, Row, Row Your Boat)
Clap, clap, clap your hands
Clap them now with me
Clap your hands let me see
Clap them now with me

Tap, tap, tap your knees // Shake, shake, shake your feet

Early literacy tip: Repetition
Young children love to hear the same book read over and over again. Though it can get boring for you, remember that children learn by repetition. Their brains NEED it. Perhaps that will help you as your read it yet again!

Book: How Rocket Learned to Read by Tad Hills

how-rocket-learned-to-read

Clearly, this is a favorite of mine. I think it was a little long for my preschoolers but I was still learning at the time!

Finger Play: Two Little Blackbirds
Two little blackbirds sitting on a cloud
One named soft, one named loud
Fly away soft, fly away loud
Come back soft, come back loud

Song: Row Row Row Your Boat
I do three verses of this classic:
Row row row your boat (the traditional way) //
Rock rock rock your boat, sway from side to side
Merrily merrily merrily merrily what a bumpy ride (bump hands on lap) //
Row row row your boat, gently down the stream
If you see a crocodile (crocodile snap with arms)
Don’t forget to scream (*AH*)

Book: I’m Not Cute by Jonathan Allen

im-not-cute-by-allen

One of my absolute favorite read alouds. I love throwing a hissy fit along with Baby Owl. The kids love it.

Song: Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes
Sung three times, getting faster each time.

Action Rhyme: Little Birds
Little birds, little birds, jump up and down
Little birds, little birds, don’t make a sound
Little birds, little birds, tiptoe to me
Little birds, little birds, bend your knees
Little birds, little birds, peep, peep, peep
Little birds, little birds, sleep, sleep, sleep
Little birds, little birds, fly to the leaves
Little birds, little birds, sit down please
Source: Storytime Katie

Book: Little Quack by Lauren Thompson; illustrated by Derek Anderson

little quack.jpg

I used to read FOUR books for preschool story time and it was a little much! But I love this book and I enjoy reading it out loud. The illustrations are so bright and colorful.

Song: Six Little Ducks by Raffi
I played this song off of my phone for the kids.

Egg Shakers: Shake It by Sally’s Music Circle

Book: Boo Hoo Bird by Jeremy Tankard

boo hoo bird.jpg

A funny story about a super dramatic bird and his forest friends who just want to make him feel better.

Song: If You’re Happy and You Know It
If you’re happy and you know it flap your wings
If you’re happy and you know it flap your wings
If you’re happy and you know it then your smile will surely show it
If you’re happy and you know it flap your wings

Shake Your Tail // Give a Tweet // Do All Three

Leave a Reply

