Special Events

Library Scavenger Hunt

Our library is currently in a temporary location. We moved to a renovated church in the spring. Our old location is being torn down and we’re waiting for a new, beautiful facility to be built. It’s very exciting but it won’t be done until Spring 2018. So for National Library Week (April 10-16, 2016) we wanted to have a passive program the kids could do that would send them around the library and familiarize them with our new location.

I printed out some instructions:

scavenger-hunt-instructions-1

Then I created an answer sheet:

instructions

It was very closely based on this one that I found on Pinterest. I taped letters around the children’s area that corresponded. So in the Music CD section I taped the letter I and at the desk I taped the letter L. The letter spelled out our secret message (I love the library).

During our Lego Club the kids had a great time running all over the children’s area finding the letters and figuring out the message. It was a great success!

Leave a Reply

