story time

Baby Story Time

Baby story time is not part of my job. I only get to do it when my coworker is on vacation, like today!! I love doing baby story times. The kids are just so sweet and everything you do is hilarious and appreciated. I love a good, supportive audience. We don’t do themed baby story times.

I used components of my coworker’s story time to keep consistency for the kids but I was able to add a few songs that I enjoy as well.

Welcome Song: Time for Storytime (to the tune of London Bridges)
Come along and clap with me, clap with me, clap with me
Come along and clap with me, it’s time for storytime

Come along and tap with me (tap feet) //
Come along and stretch with me //
Come along and clap with me

Rhyme: Trot, Trot, Trot to London
Trot, trot, trot to London, trot, trot, trot to Dover (bounce or clap knees)
Look out baby, you might fall over! (lean over sideways)
Trot, trot, trot to Boston, trot, trot, trot to Lynn (bounce or slap knees)
Look out baby you might fall in! (lean forward/let baby fall between your legs)

Song: If You’re Happy and You Know It
Clap Your Hands
Stomp Your Feet
Shout hooray
(We don’t “do all three” with the babies. It’s too much.)

Rhyme: Tick Tock
Tick tock, tick tock, I’m a little cuckoo clock (rock back and forth)
Tick tock, tick tock, now I’m chiming one o’clock
Cuckoo! (lift baby or raise arms)

Two // Three

Book: Baby Shoes by Dashka Slater; illustrated by Hiroe Nakata

baby shoes.jpg

Fingerplay/Song: Five Little Pumpkins

I was originally going to use the felt board for this but changed my mind and we just counted it out on our fingers. Tough for babies but they could participate on the whooo of the wind and the out (clap) went the lights …

Egg Shakers: Shake It by Sally’s Music Circle

Song: Itsy Bitsy Spider
Itsy Bitsy Spider (sung normally)
Teeny Weeny Spider (sung in falsetto)
Great Big Hairy Spider (sung deeply)

Book: Bears on Chairs by Shirley Parenteau; illustrated by David Walker

bears on chairs.jpg

I don’t know if there are books short enough for baby story time … these were both on the longer side and, of course, no one was paying that much attention. But I guess that’s the norm for (mostly mobile) babies!

Rhyme: Here are Baby’s Fingers
Here are baby’s fingers, here are baby’s toes
Here is baby’s belly button, round and round it goes!

Goodbye Song: Clap, Clap, Clap Your Hands
Clap, clap, clap your hands, clap your hands together
Clap, clap, clap your hands, clap your hands together

Tap, tap, tap your feet // Wave, wave, wave goodbye

Leave a Reply

