story time

Halloween Story Time

Welcome Song: Hands Go Up and Hands Go Down
(to the tune of Twinkle Twinkle Little Star)
Hands go up and hands go down
I can turn around and round
I can hop upon two shoes
I can listen so can you
I can sit, I’ll show you how
Story time is starting now

Song: Three Little Witches (to the tune of 10 Little Indians)
One little, two little, three little witches (count on fingers)
Flying over haystacks, soaring over ditches (point with right hand/point with left hand)
One little, two little, three little witches (count on fingers)
Happy Halloween! (tap knees)
Source: SurLaLune Storytime

Book: Room on the Broom by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler

room on the broom.jpg

This is a little longer than the books I would normally choose for pre-K story time but I think the rhyming stanzas kept the kids interested. It even got a few giggles from the grown ups in the audience.

Song: Row Row Row Your Boat
I do three verses of this classic:
Row row row your boat (the traditional way) //
Rock rock rock your boat, sway from side to side
Merrily merrily merrily merrily what a bumpy ride (bump hands on lap) //
Row row row your boat, gently down the stream
If you see a crocodile (crocodile snap with arms)
Don’t forget to scream (*AH*)

Song: Itsy Bitsy Spider
Itsy Bitsy Spider (sung normally)
Teeny Weeny Spider (sung in falsetto)
Great Big Hairy Spider (sung deeply)

Song: I’m a Little Pumpkin (to the tune of I’m a Little Teapot)
I’m a little pumpkin, orange and bright (cup hands)
You’ll see me out on Halloween night (hand over eyes — seeing)
Carve me a face and add a light (point to your face)
I’ll glow and glow throughout the night (wiggle fingers all around)

BookMouse’s First Halloween by Lauren Thompson; illustrated by Buket Erdogan

mouses first halloween.jpg

If there’s a mouse book that pertains to my story time theme, I use it. I love them! I do find the noises mouse is hearing a little difficult for the kids to identify but I just have them name what’s causing the sound when I turn the page and it’s revealed.

Book/Song: Five Little Pumpkins (to the tune of Baa Baa Black Sheep)

five-little-pumpkins

Five little pumpkins sitting on a gate
The first one said, “It’s half past eight.”
The second one said, “There are witches in the air.”
The third one said, “Good folk beware!”
The fourth one said, “Let’s run and run.”
The fifth one said, “Let’s have some fun.”
Ooooooooh went the wind
And OUT went the light
And five little pumpkins rolled out of sight.

Song: Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes
Sung three times, getting faster each time.

Wiggle Rhyme: Watch Out for the Bugs (to the tune of Jingle Bells)
Clap your hands, stomp your feet
Wiggle all around
Throw your hands up in the air and now let’s touch the ground
Touch your head, touch your hips, give yourself a hug
Now sit down upon the floor
But watch out for the bugs!! (stamp out the bugs)

Egg Shakers: Shake It by Sally’s Music Circle

Song: Pumpkin, Pumpkin (to the tune of Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star)
Pumpkin, pumpkin, big and round (make big circle with hands)
Sitting on the cold, hard ground. (touch ground)
Soon I’ll pick you of the vine, (pretend to pick a pumpkin)
Give you a name and make you mine. (hug pumpkin tightly)
Carve a face for all to see, (point to face)
Add a candle for Halloween glee! (clap your hands)

Book: Pumpkin Eye by Denise Fleming

pumpkin eye.jpg

Song: Alice the Camel
Alice the Camel has five humps
Alice the Camel has five humps
Alice the Camel has five humps
So go Alice go
Four // Three // Two // One
Alice the Camel has no humps
Alice the Camel has no humps
Alice the Camel has no humps
‘Cause Alice is a horse

Goodbye Song: We Wave Goodbye Like This (to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We wave goodbye like this.
We wave goodbye like this.
We clap our hands for all our friends.
We wave goodbye like this.

I love Halloween and I love doing story times with this theme. I wore a little witch’s hat that I got at Dollar Tree and we had a blast. I had (for me) the perfect sized group (17). I knew everyone’s name and I think that makes it so intimate and personal. Very successful!

Leave a Reply

