story time

Kindergarten Story Time

Every year we have two kindergarten story times for the new recruits headed off to school for the first time. We’re hoping to ease their nerves and get them excited to start their school adventure!

When we sat down I told them we were going to practice our kindergarten rules. Everyone needed to sit criss-cross applesauce and raise their hand if they wanted to talk. (Raising hands worked with varying success.) I also told them to keep those hands to themselves!

Song: Open Shut Them
Open shut them, open shut them
Give a little clap, clap, clap.
Open shut them, open shut them
Put them in your lap, lap, lap.
Creep them, crawl them
Creep them, crawl them
Right up to your chin, chin, chin.
Open up your mouth …
But do not let them in!

Song: Clap Clap Clap Your Hands (to the tune of Row, Row, Row Your Boat)
Clap, clap, clap your hands
Clap them now with me.
Clap your hands, let me see
Clap them now with me.

Tap, tap, tap your knees // Shake, shake, shake your feet

Book: Planet Kindergarten by Sue Ganz-Schmitt; illustrated by Shane Prigmore

planet kindergarten.jpg

Next we talked about following directions. You have to listen to what the teacher says and follow instructions. To practice, we played Simon Says!

Book: Pete the Cat: Rocking in My School Shoes by Eric Litwin; illustrated by James Dean

pete-the-cat-rocking-in-my-school-shoes

I was hoping they would sing along a bit more with me once they got the tune but it didn’t work so well. I think this varies on the group. Then I told them we need to make sure they know their ABC’s so we sang …

Song: The Alphabet Song

Book: Color Zoo by Lois Ehlert

color zoo.jpg

We read this to go over shapes.

Book: Is Your Buffalo Ready for Kindergarten? by Audrey Vernick; illustrated by Daniel Jennewein

is your buffalo ready for kindergarten.jpg

I had the most success with this book and would definitely read it again at any future kindergarten story times! It has a great deal of humor and gently addresses being nervous and making friends.

Flannel: The Bus for Us

My coworker created this rhyme/flannel so I’m not going to share it here but basically you ask them about a garbage truck, fire truck, ice cream truck, and, of course, a school bus to find out which is the “bus for us.”

Then we practiced raising our hands when I asked them how they were going to get to school (walking, driving with mom/dad, bus).

Song: If You’re Happy and You Know It
Clap Your Hands //
Stomp Your Feet //
Shout hooray //
Do all three

Leave a Reply

