story time

Bear Story Time

Welcome Song: Hands Go Up and Hands Go Down
(to the tune of Twinkle Twinkle Little Star)
Hands go up and hands go down
I can turn around and round
I can hop upon two shoes
I can listen so can you
I can sit, I’ll show you how
Story time is starting now

Song: The Wheels on the Bus
The wheels on the bus go round and round
Round and round, round and round
The wheels on the bus round and round
All through the town

The wipers on the bus go swish, swish, swish //
The horn on the bus goes beep, beep, beep //
The people on the bus go up and down //
The babies on the bus go wah, wah, wah //
The people on the bus go shh, shh, shh

Book: Bear Snores On by Karma Wilson and Jane Chapman

bear-snores-on

Any time there is a bear story time, this book must be read. It’s Miss Elena’s rule.

Song: Going on a Bear Hunt by Denise Gagne

I meant to burn this onto a CD but forgot/ran out of time. So I played it directly off of my phone and I think it went very well. The kids went with it and seemed to have fun. Doing the song with my outreach group first gave me confidence and some tips about how to handle it and explain the echoing element of the activity.

Song: Row Row Row Your Boat
I do three verses of this classic:
Row row row your boat (the traditional way) //
Rock rock rock your boat, sway from side to side
Merrily merrily merrily merrily what a bumpy ride (bump hands on lap) //
Row row row your boat, gently down the stream
If you see a crocodile (crocodile snap with arms)
Don’t forget to scream (*AH*)

Song: Itsy Bitsy Spider
Itsy Bitsy Spider (sung normally)
Teeny Weeny Spider (sung in falsetto)
Great Big Hairy Spider (sung deeply)

Song: Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes
Sung three times, getting faster each time.

Wiggle Rhyme: Watch Out for the Bugs (to the tune of Jingle Bells)
Clap your hands, stomp your feet
Wiggle all around
Throw your hands up in the air and now let’s touch the ground
Touch your head, touch your hips, give yourself a hug
Now sit down upon the floor
But watch out for the bugs!! (stamp out the bugs)

Book: The Very Cranky Bear by Nick Bland

the-very-cranky-bear

I had a big group today (I was later told by several parents that the rain was already making everyone stir crazy and they couldn’t wait to get out of the house) and I was a little worried these semi-long books (both Bear Snores On and The Very Cranky Bear) weren’t going to work but I was very pleasantly surprised. When it was time to wiggle the kids wiggled, when it was time to read they listened. I think it helped that both of these books are funny and engaging and some of my favorites which was probably reflected in the way they were read.

Flannel: Five Little Bears
One little bear wondering what to do.
Along came another, and then there were two.
Two little bears climbing up a tree.
Along came another, and then there were three.
Three little bears ate an apple core.
Along came another, and then there were four.
Four little honey bears found honey in a hive.
Along came another, and then there were five.
Five little brown bears saw the setting sun.
They scampered on home, and now there are none.

Egg Shakers: Shake It by Sally’s Music Circle

Action Rhyme: Little Brown Bear
A little brown bear went in search of some honey (shade eyes with hand)
Isn’t it funny, a bear wanting honey? (shrug shoulders)
He sniffed at the breeze, (pretend to sniff)
And listened for bees (hold hand to ear)
And you wouldn’t believe it,
He even climbed trees! (pretend to climb)
Source: Slightly modified from Perry Public Library

Book: If You Were a Panda Bear by Wendell and Florence Minor

if you were a panda bear.jpg

If I’d known the group was going to sit so nicely I would have picked a slightly longer book!

Action Rhyme: If I Were a Bear
If I were a happy bear I’d go ha, ha, ha (laugh)
If I were a sad bear I’d go boo hoo hoo (rub eyes)
If I were a cranky bear I’d go stomp, stomp, stomp (stomp feet)
If I were a scared bear I’d go ahh, ahh, ahh (scream)
If I were a tired bear I’d go zzz, zzz, zzz (pretend to sleep)
Source: Miss Meg’s Storytime

Song: Alice the Camel
Alice the Camel has five humps
Alice the Camel has five humps
Alice the Camel has five humps
So go Alice go
Four // Three // Two // One
Alice the Camel has no humps
Alice the Camel has no humps
Alice the Camel has no humps
‘Cause Alice is a horse

After we finished Alice the Camel we had a mom and two little ones join us (she thought story time started at 10:30) and even though the only song I had left was our goodbye song, I asked the group if they could sit through one more story for our newcomers. They happily agreed so I read a fourth book:

Book: Bears! Bears! Bears! by Bob Barner

BearsBearsBears.JPG

Goodbye Song: We Wave Goodbye Like This (to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We wave goodbye like this.
We wave goodbye like this.
We clap our hands for all our friends.
We wave goodbye like this.

In hindsight I wish I’d thought of a few more songs off the cuff for the new kids but c’est la vie. All in all a great group and a fun story time experience today!

Leave a Reply

