story time

Toy Story Time

I would love to do a Christmas story time but at a public library you have to be wary of such things and, more importantly, inclusive to everyone who might attend. This was our nod to the upcoming holiday season and all the gift giving that’s sure to occur! 😀

Welcome Song: Hands Go Up and Hands Go Down
(to the tune of Twinkle Twinkle Little Star)
Hands go up and hands go down
I can turn around and round
I can hop upon two shoes
I can listen so can you
I can sit, I’ll show you how
Story time is starting now

Song: The Wheels on the Bus
The wheels on the bus go round and round
Round and round, round and round
The wheels on the bus round and round
All through the town

The wipers on the bus go swish, swish, swish //
The horn on the bus goes beep, beep, beep //
The people on the bus go up and down //
The babies on the bus go wah, wah, wah //
The people on the bus go shh, shh, shh

Book: Corduroy by Don Freeman

corduroy

A lot of the kids had already read this book and were familiar with Corduroy and his story of finding a button and a home.

Song: Row Row Row Your Boat
I do three verses of this classic:
Row row row your boat (the traditional way) //
Rock rock rock your boat, sway from side to side
Merrily merrily merrily merrily what a bumpy ride (bump hands on lap) //
Row row row your boat, gently down the stream
If you see a crocodile (crocodile snap with arms)
Don’t forget to scream (*AH*)

Song: Itsy Bitsy Spider
Itsy Bitsy Spider (sung normally)
Teeny Weeny Spider (sung in falsetto)
Great Big Hairy Spider (sung deeply)

Song: Where is Thumbkin?
I only do thumb, pointer, and pinkie. The ring finger is tough to isolate and the middle … well, frankly, I don’t want to go into it.

Action Rhyme: Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear
Teddy bear, teddy bear, turn around
Teddy bear, teddy bear, touch the ground
Teddy bear, teddy bear, reach up high
Teddy bear, teddy bear, touch the sky (jump with arms up)
Teddy bear, teddy bear, show your shoe
Teddy bear, teddy bear, I love you (hug yourself)
Teddy bear, teddy bear, touch your knees
Teddy bear, teddy bear, sit down please
Source: Adapted from Perry Public Library

Book: Memoirs of a Goldfish by Devin Scillian

memoirs of a goldfish.jpg

So, as you can tell, this book isn’t about toys. The book I was going to use (Where’s my T.R.U.C.K.? by Karen Beaumont) was accidentally checked out to a patron. So I had to find a substitute very quickly this morning. I grabbed this humorous book because I love reading it out loud and I told the kids the goldfish kind of has new toys in his bowl. (Reaching but no one seemed to mind the change in theme!)

Song: Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes
Sung three times, getting faster each time.

Wiggle Rhyme: Watch Out for the Bugs (to the tune of Jingle Bells)
Clap your hands, stomp your feet
Wiggle all around
Throw your hands up in the air and now let’s touch the ground
Touch your head, touch your hips, give yourself a hug
Now sit down upon the floor
But watch out for the bugs!! (stamp out the bugs)

Egg Shakers: Shake It by Sally’s Music Circle

Song: Little Red Wagon (to the tune of Ten Little Indians)
Bumpin’ up and down in my little red wagon
Bumpin’ up and down in my little red wagon
Bumpin’ up and down in my little red wagon
Havin’ so much fun

Rolling all around in my little red wagon
Rolling all around in my little red wagon
Rolling all around in my little red wagon
Havin’ so much fun

Pull me around in my little red wagon
Pull me around in my little red wagon
Pull me around in my little red wagon
Havin’ so much fun

Turn the corner in my little red wagon
Turn the corner in my little red wagon
Turn the corner in my little red wagon
Havin’ so much fun

Bumpin’ up and down in my little red wagon
Bumpin’ up and down in my little red wagon
Bumpin’ up and down in my little red wagon
Havin’ so much fun
Source: Adapted from The Complete Book and CD Set of Rhymes, Songs, Poems, Fingerplays, and Chants by Jackie Silberg and Pam Schiller

Book: I Love My New Toy! by Mo Willems

i love my new toy.jpg

I love the message of this book that friends (and their feelings) are more important than toys.

Song: Alice the Camel
Alice the Camel has five humps
Alice the Camel has five humps
Alice the Camel has five humps
So go Alice go
Four // Three // Two // One
Alice the Camel has no humps
Alice the Camel has no humps
Alice the Camel has no humps
‘Cause Alice is a horse

Song: If You’re Happy and You Know It
Clap Your Hands //
Stomp Your Feet //
Shout hooray //
Do all three

Goodbye Song: We Wave Goodbye Like This (to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We wave goodbye like this.
We wave goodbye like this.
We clap our hands for all our friends.
We wave goodbye like this.

Leave a Reply

