story time

Pet Story Time

Welcome Song: Hands Go Up and Hands Go Down
(to the tune of Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star)
Hands go up and hands go down
I can turn around and round
I can hop upon two shoes
I can listen so can you
I can sit, I’ll show you how
Story time is starting now

Song: This Old Man
This old man,
He played one, (hold up one finger)
He played knick knack on my thumb.
With a knick knack (slap knees)
paddy wack (clap hands)
give a dog a bone, (hand jive)
This old man came rolling home. (roll hands)
Two … on my shoe // Three … on my knee // Four .. on the floor // Five … on the hive

Book: What Pet to Get? by Emma Dodd

what-pet-to-get

Action Rhyme: Can You?
Can you hop like a rabbit?
Can you jump like a frog?
Can you waddle like a duck?
Can you wag your tail like a dog?
Can you fly like a bird?
Can you swim like a fish?
Can you sit back down and be as still as this?
Source: Perry Public Library Storytime

Song: Song cube (Itsy, Bitsy Spider)

Song: Song cube (The Wheels on the Bus)

Song: Baby Shark
Baby shark do do do do do do (shark mouth with two fingers)
Baby shark do do do do do do
Baby shark do do do do do do
Baby shark

Other verses:
Mama Shark (shark mouth with hands connected at the wrists)
Daddy Shark (shark mouth with whole arms)
Grandma Shark (shark mouth like mama shark but with fists)
Shark attack (snap arms overhead)
Swim away (swimming motion with arms)
Safe at last (jazz hands)
Source: Adapted from Kindergarten Nation

Book: Memoirs of a Hamster by Devin Scillian; illustrated by Tim Bowers

memoirs of a hamster.jpg

This book is a little long so I shortened it when I could. However, despite its length the kids were engrossed in the story and sat still and listened. Success!

Flannel: Five Fancy Fish
Five fancy goldfish at the pet store,
I’ll buy one for my mom and now there are four.
Four fancy goldfish looking at me,
I’ll buy one for my dad and now there are three.
Three fancy goldfish in a fishbowl they outgrew,
I’ll buy one for grandma and now there are two.
Two fancy goldfish, scales shining in the sun,
I’ll buy one for grandpa and now there is one.
One fancy goldfish swimming just for fun,
I’ll take this one home with me and now there are none!
Adapted from Sunflower Storytime

Egg Shakers: Shake It by Sally’s Music Circle

Action Rhyme: I Had a Little Turtle
I had a little turtle, (hands on top of each other, wiggle thumbs)
He lived in a box. (make a box with hands)
He swam in the river, (paddle with hands)
He climbed on the rocks. (climbing motions)
He snapped at a mosquito, (pinch fingers in air)
He snapped at a flea, (pinch fingers in air)
He snapped at a minnow, (pinch fingers in air)
And he snapped at me! (pinch fingers toward self)
He caught the mosquito, (clap)
He caught the flea, (clap)
He caught the minnow, (clap)
But he didn’t catch me! (shake head and point at self)
Adapted from Perry Public Library Storytime

Book: Simon’s New Bed by Christian Trimmer; illustrated by Melissa van der Paardt

simons new bed.jpg

I didn’t have many people with pets in this group and no one had a cat AND a dog. I’ve owned cats and dogs at the same time so this book was very funny to me because I recognize the cat/dog dynamic but I think the kids just thought it was funny.

Song: Snow on the Rooftops (to the tune of Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star)
Snow on the rooftops (make pointed roof shape with arms)
Snow on the trees (hold arms out like tree branches)
Snow on the green grass (wave hands over the ground like you’re touching grass)
And snow on me! (point to self)

Snow on my mittens (hold up hands; wiggle fingers)
Snow on my nose (touch nose)
Snow on my head (touch head)
And snow on my toes (touch toes)

Twirling, swirling, whirling down (spin in circle)
Down and down and down and down (bring hands down and touch the ground)
Source: Sunflower Storytime

Song: Song cube (Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star)

I swear our song cube is weighted somehow because we rolled the exact same songs as last week …

Goodbye Song: We Wave Goodbye Like This (to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We wave goodbye like this.
We wave goodbye like this.
We clap our hands for all our friends.
We wave goodbye like this.

Leave a Reply

