story time

Dragons/Hugs Story Time (Outreach)

Welcome Song: Hands Go Up and Hands Go Down
(to the tune of Twinkle Twinkle Little Star)
Hands go up and hands go down
I can turn around and round
I can hop upon two shoes
I can listen so can you
I can sit, I’ll show you how
Story time is starting now

Song: The Wheels on the Bus
The wheels on the bus go round and round
Round and round, round and round
The wheels on the bus round and round
All through the town

The wipers on the bus go swish, swish, swish //
The horn on the bus goes beep, beep, beep //
The people on the bus go up and down //
The babies on the bus go wah, wah, wah //
The people on the bus go shh, shh, shh

Book: The Crocodile Who Didn’t Like Water by Gemma Merino

the crocodile who didn't like water.jpg

I didn’t tell them our theme until after this book since it has a “surprise” ending. (The crocodile is really a dragon!)

Song: Row Row Row Your Boat
I do three verses of this classic:
Row row row your boat (the traditional way) //
Rock rock rock your boat, sway from side to side
Merrily merrily merrily merrily what a bumpy ride (bump hands on lap) //
Row row row your boat, gently down the stream
If you see a crocodile (crocodile snap with arms)
Don’t forget to scream (*AH*)

Song: Itsy Bitsy Spider
Itsy Bitsy Spider (sung normally)
Teeny Weeny Spider (sung in falsetto)
Great Big Hairy Spider (sung deeply)

Song: Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes
Sung three times, getting faster each time.

Wiggle Rhyme: Watch Out for the Bugs (to the tune of Jingle Bells)
Clap your hands, stomp your feet
Wiggle all around
Throw your hands up in the air and now let’s touch the ground
Touch your head, touch your hips, give yourself a hug
Now sit down upon the floor
But watch out for the bugs!! (stamp out the bugs)

Book: Dragons Love Tacos by Adam Rubin; illustrated by Daniel Salmieri

dragons love tacos.jpg

I figured in a group of readers such as this one a few of them would have already read this selection but they still enjoyed it. When I was looking for the cover image I discovered a sequel is coming out in May!! I’m looking forward to reading it …

Action Rhyme: Little Dragon
Little dragon count to three.
Little dragon bend your knees.
Little dragon whistle and sing.
Little dragon flap your wings.
Little dragon touch your toes.
Little dragon scratch your nose.
Little dragon make a funny face.
Little dragon run in place.
Little dragon sit on the floor.
Little dragon start to snore.
Source: Johnson County Library

Flannel: Five Little Dragons
One little dragon with scales of blue;
Ran to meet the green one,
And then there were two.
Two little dragons sitting under a tree;
The red dragon joined them,
And then there were three.
Three little dragons, wishing there were more;
Along came the purple dragon,
And then there were four.
Four little dragons, happy to be alive;
Found a orange dragon,
And then there were five.
Five little dragons all out to play;
“Watch out, they breathe fire,” is all I have to say.
Source: Verona Story Time

I was super lazy and printed out dragon clip art onto card stock then glued felt onto the back of each one. Voila!

dragon felt.jpg

Book: The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch & Michael Martchenko

The_Paper_Bag_Princess.jpg

A classic.

Now we’re transitioning to the “hug” portion of our story time:

Song: Skinnamarink
Skinnamarinky dinky dink
Skinnamarinky do,
I love you!
Skinnamarinky dinky dink
Skinnamarinky do,
I love you!
I love you in the morning,
And in the afternoon
I love you in the evening,
And underneath the moon.
Skinnamarinky dinky dink
Skinnamarinky do,
I love you!
Source: Childhood

Book: Hugs from Pearl by Paul Schmid

hugs from pearl.jpg

Our other children’s librarian put this on hold for her Valentine’s Day story time and I liked it so much I used it for outreach! Very sweet story about a porcupine who loves to give hugs but she needs to find a solution for her quills.

Egg Shakers: Shake It by Sally’s Music Circle

Song: Snow on the Rooftops (to the tune of Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star)
Snow on the rooftops (make pointed roof shape with arms)
Snow on the trees (hold arms out like tree branches)
Snow on the green grass (wave hands over the ground like you’re touching grass)
And snow on me! (point to self)

Snow on my mittens (hold up hands; wiggle fingers)
Snow on my nose (touch nose)
Snow on my head (touch head)
And snow on my toes (touch toes)

Twirling, swirling, whirling down (spin in circle)
Down and down and down and down (bring hands down and touch the ground)
Source: Sunflower Storytime

Book: Hug Me by Simona Ciraolo

hug me.jpg

Similar to the above book selection. All this little cactus wants is a hug but his family is standoffish so he strikes out on his own and finds someone he can hug who won’t be bothered by his prickles.

Song: You Are My Sunshine
You are my sunshine,
My only sunshine.
You make me happy when skies are gray.
You’ll never know dear,
How much I love you.
Please don’t take my sunshine away.
Source: Childhood

My mom used to sing this to me and now I sing this to my baby boy when he can’t sleep and I thought it was a perfect Valentine’s Day/hug selection.

Song: Alice the Camel
Alice the Camel has five humps
Alice the Camel has five humps
Alice the Camel has five humps
So go Alice go
Four // Three // Two // One
Alice the Camel has no humps
Alice the Camel has no humps
Alice the Camel has no humps
‘Cause Alice is a horse

Goodbye Song: We Wave Goodbye Like This (to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We wave goodbye like this.
We wave goodbye like this.
We clap our hands for all our friends.
We wave goodbye like this.

Leave a Reply

