story time

Bug Story Time

After a loooooooong story time break to prepare for summer, we’re back with bugs! Because of the break I was a little rusty. I had a lot of new faces today (which always makes me a little nervous) and at the start of the program, when I was pitching our summer reading program, I had an older kid keep interrupting me with questions and it threw me all off for some reason. Which is very weird because that sort of thing never gets to me! I’ve ever had parents come up after particularly rowdy story times and tell me how impressed they are with my patience. There must be a full moon … But no matter. Onward!

I decided it was time for new welcome/closing songs:

Welcome Song: Clap and Sing Hello (to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We clap and sing hello,
We clap and sing hello,
With our friends at story time,
We clap and sing hello!
We wave and sing hello // We stomp and sing hello
Source: Storytime Katie

Song: Apples & Bananas

A new story time song. It went all right … there were some giggles for the funny fruit pronunciations. I’ll try again next week.

Book: Pest Fest by Julia Durango; illustrated by Kurt Cyrus

pest fest.jpg

In hindsight this might have been a little long but I loved the rhyming. I think if I’d had a group of my regulars it would have been fine but I had a very mixed group.

Action Rhyme: The Grasshopper
There was a little grasshopper (make fist with index and middle finger out front)
Who was always on the jump (make your “grasshopper” jump)
And because he never looked ahead, (shake head)
He always got a bump! (run your “grasshopper” into your other palm)
Source: SurLaLune Storytime

For whatever reason, this rhyme fell flat for me. I thought the kids would think the bump was funny but … they didn’t.

Flannel: Five Little Ladybugs
Five little ladybugs on our front door,
One flew to Evan (or another kid’s name) and that left four.
Four little ladybugs oh so wee,
One flew to Kathryn and that left three.
Three little ladybugs saying “howdy-do,”
One flew to Avery and now there are two.
Two little ladybugs snoozing in the sun,
One flew to Kaylan and now there is one.
One little ladybug alone on the door,
It flew to Sawyer and now there are no more.
Source: Perry Public Library

Song: Itsy, Bitsy Spider

Book: Diary of a Spider by Doreen Cronin; pictures by Harry Bliss

diary of a spider.jpg

Another selection that fell flat. Perhaps the humor went over their heads a bit? It was also a bit chaotic during this reading with kids getting up and down from the carpet. I’m going to read it to my outreach kids tomorrow and see how it goes … I think they’ll “get” it and enjoy it a bit more.

Action Book: Can You Make a Scary Face? by Jan Thomas

can-you-make-a-scary-face

The kids likes this one … it’s usually a hit!

Egg Shakers: Shake It by Sally’s Music Circle

Egg Shakers: Shake Your Sillies Out by The Wiggles

I wanted the Raffi version of this song but I couldn’t find it on Spotify. I came to find out after story time that Raffi’s version is called Shake My Sillie’s Out (not Your) so I found it and we’re going to use it next time. You’d think Spotify’s search engine would be better … I think the kids enjoyed the additional shaker song.

Book: Big Bug Surprise by Julia Gran

big bug surprise.jpg

I think this book went over the best. By this time the less serious story time attendees had moved on to other activities and the kids that were left were paying attention and were able to get into the story. Phew!

Song: Baby Shark
Baby shark do do do do do do (shark mouth with two fingers)
Baby shark do do do do do do
Baby shark do do do do do do
Baby shark

Other verses:
Mama Shark (shark mouth with hands connected at the wrists)
Daddy Shark (shark mouth with whole arms)
Grandma Shark (shark mouth like mama shark but with fists)
Shark attack (snap arms overhead)
Swim away (swimming motion with arms)
Safe at last (jazz hands)
Source: Adapted from Kindergarten Nation

Closing Song: It’s Time to Say Goodbye to All Our Friends (to the tune of She’ll Be Comin’ Round the Mountain When She Comes)
It’s time to say goodbye to all our friends, “Goodbye!”
It’s time to say goodbye to all our friends, “Goodbye!”
It’s time to say goodbye,
Wave your hands and wink your eye,
Now it’s time to say goodbye to all our friends, “Goodbye!”
Source: Sunflower Storytime

Leave a Reply

