story time

Summer Story Time

Welcome Song: Clap and Sing Hello (to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We clap and sing hello,
We clap and sing hello,
With our friends at story time,
We clap and sing hello!
We wave and sing hello // We stomp and sing hello
Source: Storytime Katie

Song: Apples & Bananas

Book: Summer by Alice Low; illustrated by Roy McKie

summer.jpg

Flannel: Five Little Birds
One little bird with feathers of blue,
Flew beside the green one and now there are two.
Two little birds singing in the tree,
The red bird came to join them and now there are three.
Three little birds wishing there were more,
Along came the purple one and now there are four.
Four little birds, happy to be alive,
Found a little yellow one, and now there are five.
Five little birds, happy as can be,
Singing beautiful songs — just for you and me!
Source: Coworker

I don’t know if she found this somewhere or made it up but we loved it!

Action Rhyme: Swimming
Swimming in the water cool and bright (pretend to swim)
I kick my feet with all my might. (kick feet)
And when I’m tired I turn and float, (spin and hold arms out)
Pretending that I’m a boat.
I like to hold my breath and dive, (pretend to take a breath and dive)
I swim beneath the water and count to five. (count to five)
Wow! What a dive!
Source: Storytime Katie

Song: Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes
Sung three times, getting faster each time.

Book: The Night Before Summer Vacation by Natasha Wing; illustrated by Julie Durrell

the night before summer vacation.jpg

Song: Down By the Bay
Down by the bay,
Where the watermelons grow,
Back to my home,
I dare not go.
For if I do,
My mother will say:
Did you ever see a moose kissing a goose?
Down by the bay!

Did you ever see a bear combing his hair? //
… whale with a polka dot tail? //
… apple … eating a blapple? … orange … Did you ever have a time … when you couldn’t make a rhyme?
Down by the bay!

Another Raffi favorite I rediscovered from childhood because of my baby boy. (He’s fond of stealing my phone and making me find Raffi and Sesame Street videos for him to watch. Thief.)

Egg Shakers: Shake It by Sally’s Music Circle

Egg Shakers: Shake Your Sillies Out by Raffi

Book: It’s Summer by Jimmy Pickering

it's summer.jpg

Song: Baby Shark
Baby shark do do do do do do (shark mouth with two fingers)
Baby shark do do do do do do
Baby shark do do do do do do
Baby shark

Other verses:
Mama Shark (shark mouth with hands connected at the wrists)
Daddy Shark (shark mouth with whole arms)
Grandma Shark (shark mouth like mama shark but with fists)
Shark attack (snap arms overhead)
Swim away (swimming motion with arms)
Safe at last (jazz hands)
Source: Adapted from Kindergarten Nation

Closing Song: It’s Time to Say Goodbye to All Our Friends (to the tune of She’ll Be Comin’ Round the Mountain When She Comes)
It’s time to say goodbye to all our friends, “Goodbye!”
It’s time to say goodbye to all our friends, “Goodbye!”
It’s time to say goodbye,
Wave your hands and wink your eye,
Now it’s time to say goodbye to all our friends, “Goodbye!”
Source: Sunflower Storytime

Leave a Reply

